Enter Keywords to Search

13th Senior Match Play Championship


Past Champions

The Connecticut Senior Match Play Championship is open to bona fide members of a CSGA club who are fifty five years of age and over by the start of the tournament. The tournament, which is the first of two majors for senior golfers on the CSGA schedule, challenges competitors with a round of stroke play to determine the low sixteen match play qualifiers followed by two rounds of match play each day that culminate in an eighteen-hole final match. The tournament was first held at the Connecticut Golf Club in 2007, where Bill Torza of Stanley Golf Course captured the title over Shawn McLoughlin, 5 & 3.

Past Tournament Results: 20182017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

Year Winner Home Course Site
2018 Pat McGuiness Keney Gillette Ridge
2017 Tom Brett Tallwood Brooklawn
2016 Bruce Kraczkowsky Blue Fox Run Hop Meadow
2015 Bill Hermanson Black Hall Club GC at Oxford Greens
2014 Dave Szewczul Tunxis Plantation The Farms CC
2013 Dave Szewczul Tunxis Plantation Connecticut Golf Club
2012 Dave Szewczul Tunxis Plantation Silver Spring
2011 Jim Tierney Richter Park Gillette Ridge
2010 Dave Szewczul Tunxis Plantation Gillette Ridge
2009 Dave McNally Norwich Gillette Ridge
2008 Lou Stone Woodbridge Connecticut Golf Club
2007 Bill Torza Stanley Connecticut Golf Club


CSGA Corporate Partners

Allied Organizations

About the CSGA

The CSGA functions as an extension of the USGA and provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. Founded in 1899, it is the country’s oldest state golf association and conducts over 50 Championships, Qualifiers and One-Day Tournaments throughout the year, in addition to administering handicaps for over 40,000 members and 181 member clubs. As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the CSGA supports a variety of golf organizations within Connecticut, including the Connecticut Women’s Golf Association, Southern New England Women’s Golf Association, The First Tee, the Connecticut PGA, the Connecticut Association of Golf Course Superintendents and the CSGA Scholarship Fund in honor of Widdy Neale.