Enter Keywords to Search

22nd Connecticut Women's Open Championship


2014 Women's Open heads to Wampanoag Country Club

For the second time in the sixteen year history of the Connecticut Women's Open Championship, Wampanoag Country Club will host the region's top female amateur and professional golfers in May 27th and 28th, 2014.

Located in West Hartford, Connecticut, Wampanoag Country Club is an 18-hole private country club that was originally founded in 1924. Shortly thereafter, the club commissioned famed architect Donald Ross to design the championship layout. Ross, best known for his simplistic designs and holes that are carved out of the existnig natural lanscape, designed a course that has withstood the test of time. 

Wampanoag Country Club is no stranger to hosting the state's premier amateur and professional championships, having previously hosted six Connecticut Open Championships (1932, 1937, 1940, 1950, 1968 and 1980) and six Connecticut Amateur Championships (1930, 1939, 1963, 1973, 1982 and 2003). Most recently, it hosted the 2005 Connecticut Women's Open Championship, with Liz (Janangelo) Caron capturing her third straight title on her home course. 

The Connecticut Women's Open Championship is open to any amateur or professional female golfer and is the CSGA's only championship that is open to non-residents of Connecticut. The event has a rich history of produing champions, and past winners include Liz Janangelo, former LPGA Tour Professional, and Suzy Whaley, PGA and LPGA Professional. The tournament has a $5,000 guaranteed prize for the low professional.

CSGA Corporate Partners

Allied Organizations

About the CSGA

Founded in 1899, the CSGA is the country's oldest state golf association and, as an Allied Golf Association of the USGA, provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. In addition to administering handicaps for over 40,000 members at 181 member clubs, the CSGA conducts more than 85 days of competition throughout the year for golfers of all ages, genders, and skill levels. As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the CSGA supports a variety of golf organizations within Connecticut, including the Connecticut Association of Golf Course Superintendents, Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference, Connecticut Section PGA, Connecticut Women’s Golf Association, CSGA Scholarship Fund in honor of Widdy Neale, LPGA-Amateur Golf Association, Southern New England Women’s Golf Association, and The First Tee of Connecticut.