Enter Keywords to Search

22nd Connecticut Women's Open

Rockrimmon's tricky par-3, 9th hole

Rockrimmon Country Club will host its first CSGA women's major championship, the 22nd Connecticut Women’s Open Championship, Wednesday and Thursday, August 26-27.

Like the site of 2020 Connecticut Open Championship, Ridgewood Country Club, Rockrimmon is partly the work of Robert Trent Jones, who used the natural topography of northern Fairfield County to create a course that is both beautiful and capable of challenging very good players. Jones completed 9 holes on the old Ayers Farm that straddled the New York State and Connecticut lines. Golfers play over the Ayers Pond on the picturesque, par-3 ninth hole. Orrin Smith added nine more in 1953. Rockrimmon was the site of the 2014 MGA Senior Amateur, when the winning score was +4. It also served as a qualifying site for the 2019 U.S. Junior Amateur and the 2019 U.S. Girl’s Junior championships. For the Women’s Open the course will play to about 5800 yards and par 72.

Another Fairfield County Club, Brooklawn Country Club, hosted the 2019 Connecticut Women’s Open, won by Loretta Giovannettone, an assistant at Woodway Country Club. Giovannettone overtook Symetra Tour professional Brooke Baker on the 16th hole and held on for victory to win by a shot over Baker, 140-141. Stratford teacher Jordan Lintz, Pennsylvania pro Kellie Edelblut and Low Amateur Jennifer Keim tied third at 143. Rockrimmon offers the possibility of a similar, later-round shift. It closes on three holes, par 4-3-4, that will yield birdies. On the women’s card they are the 14th, 16th and 10th most difficult holes.

The Connecticut Women’s Open Championship was first played in 1999. It is 36 holes of stroke play and open to professionals and amateurs with handicaps of 15.0 or less.

It was won three consecutive times early in its history by now PGA of America President Suzy Whaley, and four times consecutively by Liz Janangelo Caron, after whom the CSGA Women’s Player of the Year award is named.

CSGA Corporate Partners

Allied Organizations

About the CSGA

Founded in 1899, the CSGA is the country's oldest state golf association and, as an Allied Golf Association of the USGA, provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. In addition to administering handicaps for over 40,000 members at 181 member clubs, the CSGA conducts more than 85 days of competition throughout the year for golfers of all ages, genders, and skill levels. As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the CSGA supports a variety of golf organizations within Connecticut, including the Connecticut Association of Golf Course Superintendents, Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference, Connecticut Section PGA, Connecticut Women’s Golf Association, CSGA Scholarship Fund in honor of Widdy Neale, LPGA-Amateur Golf Association, Southern New England Women’s Golf Association, and The First Tee of Connecticut.