Enter Keywords to Search

22nd Connecticut Women's Open


Brooklawn CC Welcomes its First CT Women’s Open

View from the back of Brooklawn's 9th green

Almost no club in Connecticut has hosted more major championships, state and national, than Brooklawn Country Club in Fairfield.

Site of six Connecticut Open Championships and four USGA national events, Brooklawn will welcome the Connecticut Women’s Open for the first time on June 4-5. Though not long by modern standards at a maximum of 6700 yards, Brooklawn's A.W. Tillinghast design has confounded even the most talented golfers, thanks to its hilly topography and difficult, undulating greens. 

The club hosted the 1974 U.S. Junior Amateur Championship, the 1979 U.S. Women’s Open Championship, the 1987 Senior Open Championship and the 2003 U.S. Girls’ Junior Championship. It was also the site of the 20th Metropolitan Golf Association Senior Championship in 2016. 

Site of the first Connecticut Amateur Championship played in July, 1899, Brooklawn is known for its association with some of the game’s greatest players.  Member Georgianna Bishop was the U.S. Women’s Amateur Champion in 1904. Gene Sarazen served as an assistant professional at Brooklawn before winning all four major championships. Julius Boros, a Fairfield resident, and two-time U.S. Open Champion, was an honorary member. 

The field for the 21st Women’s Open likely will not include 2018 Champion Sarah Burnham, who is now a rookie on the LPGA tour. Among those expected to return, however, are 2016 champion Jessica Carafiello of Innis Arden, where the Open was played last year, and low amateur Danielle Bambola.    

The Connecticut Women’s Open Championship was first played in 1999. It was won three consecutive times early in its history by now PGA of America President Suzy Whaley, and four times consecutively by Liz Janangelo Caron, after whom the CSGA Women’s Player of the Year award is named. The 2018 field of 78 was split almost evenly between amateurs and professionals. 

CSGA Corporate Partners

Allied Organizations

About the CSGA

Founded in 1899, the CSGA is the country's oldest state golf association and, as an Allied Golf Association of the USGA, provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. In addition to administering handicaps for over 40,000 members at 181 member clubs, the CSGA conducts more than 85 days of competition throughout the year for golfers of all ages, genders, and skill levels. As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the CSGA supports a variety of golf organizations within Connecticut, including the Connecticut Association of Golf Course Superintendents, Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference, Connecticut Section PGA, Connecticut Women’s Golf Association, CSGA Scholarship Fund in honor of Widdy Neale, LPGA-Amateur Golf Association, Southern New England Women’s Golf Association, and The First Tee of Connecticut.