Enter Keywords to Search

Connecticut State Golf Association
Steward of Connecticut Golf Since 1899
Connecticut State Golf Association


Registration Open for 2019 CSGA Championships

Torrington C.C. will host the 2019 Connecticut Open

Registration is now open for 2019 CSGA championships. 

The list of 2019 CSGA championship venues comprises some of the strongest, and most beautiful, courses in the state.

In July the Connecticut Open returns to Torrington Country Club, whose Orrin Smith design was the site of the 2013 Open, won by Jeff Curl. Torrington previously hosted both the Connecticut men’s and women’s amateur championships, as well as numerous USGA qualifiers.

Fox Hopyard in East Haddam will be the site of Connecticut Amateur, June 17-21, the first major CSGA championship on the Roger Rulewich design since the Connecticut Women’s Open in 2003. It has since been the site of the PGA Connecticut Section Walter Lowell Championship in 2014 and more recently a Connecticut Open qualifier in 2016.

The Palmer Cup returns to the Country Club of Waterbury, its traditional host, which was the site of last year’s Connecticut Amateur, won by Player of the Year Ben Conroy. The 2018 Palmer Cup was hosted by Farmington Country, honored as the 2018 CSGA Distinguished Club of the Year.

The 34th Connecticut Public Links will be played at Wintonbury Hills Golf Course in Bloomfield, August 6-7. In recent years the Pete Dye designed course has also hosted US Open and US Junior Amateur qualifying for the CSGA.

The 32nd playing of the Connecticut Mid-Amateur Championship moves to Shuttle Meadow Country Club in Kensington, August 26-27. Like the 2018 Open site, New Haven Country Club, Shuttle Meadow is a Willie Park, Jr., design. The club dates from 1899, the course itself from 1917. Shuttle Meadow has hosted seven Connecticut Amateur Championships, and three Connecticut Opens.

On September 23-24 the Connecticut Senior Amateur returns to Black Hall Club, which will, as usual, also host the Two Man Team Championship in May. Black Hall has twice previously been the site of the Senior Amateur, this past year won by Torrington’s Ray Underwood.

On the women’s side, Brooklawn, site of six Connecticut Open Championships and four USGA majors, will host the 21st Connecticut Women’s Open Championship, June 4-5. The Connecticut (men’s) Open was played at the Fairfield club in 2011 when Frank Bensel won it.

Another Fairfield County club, Oronoque Country Club in Stratford, will host the Connecticut Women’s Amateur Championship, July 24-25.  Oronoque was designed in the early 1970s by renowned architect Desmond Muirhead, in consultation with Gene Sarazen. It was once ranked as one of 50 Toughest Courses by Golf Digest Magazine, which cited its narrow, hogback fairways and fast, difficult greens.

“It’s a strong list of venues throughout the season,” said CSGA Executive Director Mike Moraghan. “We are thankful for the opportunity and excited to bring these championships to such outstanding clubs and courses this year.”


CSGA Corporate Partners

Allied Organizations

About the CSGA

The CSGA functions as an extension of the USGA and provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. Founded in 1899, it is the country’s oldest state golf association and conducts over 50 Championships, Qualifiers and One-Day Tournaments throughout the year, in addition to administering handicaps for over 40,000 members and 181 member clubs. As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the CSGA supports a variety of golf organizations within Connecticut, including the Connecticut Women’s Golf Association, Southern New England Women’s Golf Association, The First Tee, the Connecticut PGA, the Connecticut Association of Golf Course Superintendents and the CSGA Scholarship Fund in honor of Widdy Neale.