Enter Keywords to Search

Connecticut State Golf Association
Steward of Connecticut Golf Since 1899
Connecticut State Golf Association


CSGA Governance

Current and former members of the CSGA Executive Committee shown above include (l-r) Jim Healey, Jack Bracken, Shelly Guyer, Fred Fawcett, Judy Smith, Bill Cremins, Peter Kaufmann, Stan McFarland and Ben Briggs.

Twelve Connecticut golf clubs came together in 1899 to form the League of Connecticut Golf Clubs later to be known as the Connecticut State Golf Association.  The CSGA was formally organized as a non-profit corporation in 1984.  Active membership is composed on nine and eighteen-hole property owning golf clubs in the state.  Non-property golf clubs may join as Associate member clubs.  Representatives of member clubs meet once each year in regular session to receive reports, elect officers, and conduct other appropriate business.

The operations of the CSGA are administered by an Executive Committee composed of six elected officers and additional special advisors who may be appointed by the Executive Committee.  The work of the organization is conducted through a series of major committees including Competitions, Rules, Course Rating and Handicapping, Golf Hall of Fame, and Junior Golf.  A regional program supports the work of the Executive Committee through five geographic regions with Regional Vice Presidents and At-Large Representatives who coordinate the efforts of Club Representatives.  The Executive Committee employs an Executive Director and professional staff to administer and conduct day-to-day activities.  The CSGA boasts an extensive volunteer program that is integral to the conduct of golf competitions.

The CSGA also annually recognizes the Volunteer of the Year and Club of the Year. More Information »

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of not fewer than thirty-five members and not more than fifty members and meets bi-annually.  The Board manages the property of the CSGA and reserves the right to make or amend the By-Laws of the CSGA.  Board membership is composed of the elective officers, special advisors, regional officers, past presidents, the executive director, and representatives of affiliated organizations.

Executive Committee

President Bill Cremins, CC of Waterbury
Vice President, Competitions Fred Fawcett, Orange Hills CC
Vice President, Club Relations Ed Detmer, Madison CC
Vice President Bill Wallace, Brooklawn CC
Secretary Bruce Kraczkowsky, Blue Fox Run GC
Treasurer Ray Underwood, Torrington CC & The Washington Club
Special Advisor & Legal Counsel Jack Bracken, Hartford GC
Special Advisor Judy Smith, Orange Hills CC


Committee Chairs

Competitions Fred Fawcett
Course Rating & Handicapping Mike Flis
Hall of Fame Bill Wallace
Junior Golf Chuck Claffey
Nominating Jim Healey
Rules Bill Cremins
Women's Open Judy Smith


Special Assignments

Connecticut Golf Hall of Fame Chairman - Bill Wallace
Distinguished Club Award Ed Detmer
Club Representative of the Year Ed Detmer
Players Council Fred Fawcett
Past President's Council Jim Healey
Women's Open Judy Smith
First Tee of CT Delegate Mike Moraghan
Team Captain Roger Everin
Connecticut Golf Alliance Mike Moraghan
New England Golf Assoc. Members John Marion
Michael Moraghan
NEGA Junior Committee

Chuck Claffey

NEGA Senior Committee Stan McFarland
NEGA Executive Committee John Walsh


Regional Vice Presidents

Region 1 - River Valley Reg Zurinskas, Simsbury Farms GC
Region 2 - Mystic Country Don Sanders, Tallwood CC
Region 3 - Greater New Haven Owen Evans, Tashua Knolls GC
Region 4 - Litchfield Hills Dick Weigold, Torrington CC
Region 5 - Fairfield County Ben Briggs, Silvermine GC


Regional At-Large Representatives

Region 1 - River Valley William Gallagher, Airways GC
Region 1 - River Valley Rob Josephson, Indian Hill CC
Region 2 - Mystic Country Steve Basson, Ellington Ridge CC
Region 2 - Mystic Country Bill Hermanson, Black Hall Club
Region 3 - Greater New Haven Peter Pappas, Laurel View GC
Region 3 - Greater New Haven Les Zimmerman, Hunter GC
Region 4 - Litchfield Hills Chuck Hansen, Richter Park GC
Region 4 - Litchfield Hills TBD
Region 5 - Fairfield County Robert Moriarty, CC Fairfield
Region 5 - Fairfield County TBD

Affiliated Members

CT Assoc. of Golf Course Superintendents Paul Bonini, Watertown GC
Conn. Women's Golf Association Lynn Lefler
Conn. Section PGA Howie Friday, Stanley GC
Club Managers Association Marc Possidento
First Tee of Connecticut Mark Moriarty
Southern New England Women's Golf Assoc. Deb Johnson


Past Presidents

Peter Bulkeley, Fenwick GC
Robert W. Hopkins, Woodway CC
Peter Kaufmann, Woodway CC
Thomas W Lane, Racebrook CC
John Marion, Norwich GC
Stan McFarland, Manchester CC
Willard "Bill" Starkie, Wintonbury Hills GC
Carl Stockwell, Grassy Hill CC
John J Walsh, Jr., New Haven CC
Jeff Witherwax, Heritage Village CC
Richard J Zanini, Wethersfield CC
Jim Healey, Jr., Hartford GC




Ocie Adams, CC of Fairfield
John Aylsworth, Unaffiliated
Harry Cashin, III, Unaffiliated
Sanford Cloud, Jr., CC of Farmington
Ron Drapeau, Wyndemere CC
Richard M Duffy, Wee Burn CC
Robert B Goode, Jr., Hartford GC
Arthur Harris, Jr., Shuttle Meadow CC
Edmund Keating, Ellington Ridge CC
Del Kinney, Jr., Wyantenuck CC
Malcolm McLachlan, Heritage Village CC
Frank Nardelli, Pinehurst CC
David Seaman, New Haven CC
Richard Siderowf, Unaffiliated
David P Szewczul, Tunxis Plantation CC
W W Whedon, CC of Farmington


Honorary Members

Terry B. Calabrese, The Course at Yale  

Special Awards

Volunteer of the Year Award

Distinguished Club Award

Distinguished Service Award

CSGA Corporate Partners

Allied Organizations

Allied Organizations

About the CSGA

Founded in 1899, the CSGA is the country's oldest state golf association and, as an Allied Golf Association of the USGA, provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. In addition to administering handicaps for over 40,000 members at 181 member clubs, the CSGA conducts more than 85 days of competition throughout the year for golfers of all ages, genders, and skill levels. As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the CSGA supports a variety of golf organizations within Connecticut, including the Connecticut Association of Golf Course Superintendents, Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference, Connecticut Section PGA, Connecticut Women’s Golf Association, CSGA Scholarship Fund in honor of Widdy Neale, LPGA-Amateur Golf Association, Southern New England Women’s Golf Association, and The First Tee of Connecticut.