Enter Keywords to Search

Connecticut State Golf Association
Steward of Connecticut Golf Since 1899
Connecticut State Golf Association

One Day Series

Griffin, Hermanson Capture Ellington Ridge One Day Titles

Ellington Ridge Country Club is a regular host of CSGA events

Ellington, Connecticut (September 20, 2021) – Spectacular weather ushered in the final One Day Tournament presented by Chris Cote’s Golf Shop of the season. A full field descended upon host Ellington Ridge Country Club looking to end their season on a high note but in the end it was two familiar faces in Pat Griffin and Bill Hermanson, who played in the same group, that claimed the titles. 

Two-time reigning One Day Dick Tettelbach Player of the Year winner Pat Griffin continued his late season surge with his second victory in the last month. For the first 17 holes Griffin, the winner of the Hop Meadow One Day, had a field day as he made his way around Ellington Ridge CC.

Griffin came flying out of the gates with four birdies in the first five holes to jump out to a 4-under start. A string of pars followed until Griffin birdied again on the par-4 16th to move to 5-under. After a par on the 17th it looked as if Griffin would sign for a bogey-free scorecard however he stumbled on one of the hardest holes in the state with a triple-bogey on the par-4 closing hole. 

Despite the final hole trip up Griffin had done enough throughout the remainder of his round to sign for a 2-under 70 and earn a one shot victory in the Tettelbach Open Division over Rob Tedoldi Jr. (-1). Dylan Keith (E) finished third, Chet Hrostek (+1) was fourth, while Nick Kapinos, Keith Salamon, David Kennedy, and Seth Jainchill shared fifth at 2-over. 

In the Siderowf Division Bill Hermanson earned his second One Day title of the season with a 2-under 70 to win by two shots over the even-par duo of Tony Susi and Derek Waddington. 

Hermanson, the winner of the Mill River CC One Day in July and the Tournament of Champions earlier this month, birdied five times and bogeyed twice during his round. His best stretch of golf came on Nos. 2-7 where the Connecticut Golf Hall of Famer rolled in four birdies and one bogey to eventually turn in 3-under 33. 

Kevin Foster, Bruce Kraczkowsky, David Shea, and Dave Jones all shared fourth at 1-over to round out the top-five. 

Tedoldi Jr. (-4) took the top spot in the Tettelbach Net Division, followed by Kapinos (-3) in second while John Nitz, Kennedy, Mario Argentino, and Walter Keuchkerian II shared third at 2-under.

With a 5-under tally Michael O’Neill claimed the Siderowf Net Division by three shots over Don Crockett and Barry Burgess who tied for second at 2-under. A trio of players including John Sakon, Kraczkowsky, and Rob D’Agostino shared fourth at 1-under.

Note: The CSGA would like to extend a big thank you to Ellington Ridge CC Head Professional Scott Vroman and Head Superintendent Joey Trenholm and their staffs for hosting a fantastic tournament!

About the Connecticut State Golf Association

The Connecticut State Golf Association functions as an extension of the USGA and provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. Founded in 1899, it is the country’s oldest state golf association and conducts over 60 Championships, Qualifiers, and One Day Tournaments throughout the year.

CSGA Corporate Partners

Allied Organizations

Allied Organizations

About the CSGA

Founded in 1899, the CSGA is the country's oldest state golf association and, as an Allied Golf Association of the USGA, provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. In addition to administering handicaps for over 40,000 members at 181 member clubs, the CSGA conducts more than 85 days of competition throughout the year for golfers of all ages, genders, and skill levels. As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the CSGA supports a variety of golf organizations within Connecticut, including the Connecticut Association of Golf Course Superintendents, Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference, Connecticut Section PGA, Connecticut Women’s Golf Association, CSGA Scholarship Fund in honor of Widdy Neale, LPGA-Amateur Golf Association, Southern New England Women’s Golf Association, and The First Tee of Connecticut.