Enter Keywords to Search

Connecticut State Golf Association
Steward of Connecticut Golf Since 1899
Connecticut State Golf Association


History Maker: Holland Named Women's POY

The 2017 season marked the introduction of the CSGA’s Women’s Player of the Year award, which was established to recognize Connecticut’s top female amateur golfer, and it is only fitting that Jen Holland of Lyman Orchards Golf Club is the inaugural recipient. 

The 2008 Connecticut Women’s Amateur Champion put together an impressive 2017 season that was marked by high finishes in virtually every event she played. Holland won the SNEWGA (Southern New England Women’s Golf Association) Championship, SNEWGA Senior Championship, and the Women’s Tournament of Champions, and finished 11th at the New England Women’s Golf Association Championship. She nearly captured her second Women’s Amateur title, finishing second at the Connecticut Women’s Amateur Championship

But her season was no doubt highlighted by a trip to Portland, Oregon for the U.S. Senior Women’s Amateur Championship. She qualified for the championship at Forest Hill Field Club in Bloomfield, New Jersey, and successfully advanced to match play by earning the #56 seed. She lost her first round match to Judith Kyrinis of Canada, who would go on to capture the title.

Holland also represented Connecticut in the final USGA State Team Matches in September, a team she also played on in 2013 and 2015. She helped Connecticut to finish best of all New England states (22nd place).

The Women’s Player of the Year award is named after Liz Janangelo Caron, who captured five consecutive Connecticut Women’s Amateur Championships (1997-2001), three consecutive Connecticut Women’s Open Championships (2003-2005), played on the 2004 U.S. Curtis Cup team, and qualified for three U.S. Women’s Open Championships (2000, 2002, 2003) during her amateur career. The 2000 Connecticut Female Athlete of the Year, Janangelo Caron captured nine American Junior Golf Association titles, with five of those wins coming in 2001.

Upon graduating from Duke in 2006, Janangelo Caron claimed her fourth consecutive Connecticut Women’s Open Championship in her professional debut. She went on to compete on both the LPGA Tour and Symetra Tour capturing two wins as a professional on the Symetra Tour, both in 2007. Currently, Janangelo Caron shares her expertise and experience as a teaching professional at The Mill River Club on Long Island.

Final Points Standings

1 Jen Holland, Lyman Orchards GC 755
2 Lisa Fern-Boros, Highland GC 456
3 Mercedese Large, Wampanoag CC 391
4 Debbie Johnson, Oronoque CC 313
5 Autumn Serruta, GC of Avon 300
6 Maisie Filler, Hartford GC 260
7 Julia Kemmling, Timberlin GC 222
8 Sarah Houle, Rock Ridge CC 172
9 Jean Sennett, Wampanoag CC 130
10 Lynda Foster, Madison CC 120
11 Pacharada Treekul, Lyman Orchards GC 115
12 Mim Schreck, Oronoque CC 110
13 Nora Noël Nolan, Shorehaven GC 107
14 Alexandra Sazhin, Golf Performance Center 102
15 Vienna Winalski, Rockledge GC 97
16 Lisa Lavoie, Stanley GC 85
17 Joyce Curran, CT Women’s Golf Association 75
18 Mia Landegren, Unaffiliated 75
19 Nikki Liucci, Farmington Woods CC 75
20 Priscilla Wago, Heritage Village CC 75

CSGA Corporate Partners

Allied Organizations

About the CSGA

Founded in 1899, the CSGA is the country's oldest state golf association and, as an Allied Golf Association of the USGA, provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. In addition to administering handicaps for over 40,000 members at 181 member clubs, the CSGA conducts more than 85 days of competition throughout the year for golfers of all ages, genders, and skill levels. As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the CSGA supports a variety of golf organizations within Connecticut, including the Connecticut Association of Golf Course Superintendents, Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference, Connecticut Section PGA, Connecticut Women’s Golf Association, CSGA Scholarship Fund in honor of Widdy Neale, LPGA-Amateur Golf Association, Southern New England Women’s Golf Association, and The First Tee of Connecticut.