Enter Keywords to Search

Connecticut State Golf Association
Steward of Connecticut Golf Since 1899
Connecticut State Golf Association

Women's Player of the Year

2019 Liz Janangelo Caron Women's Player of the Year

Beginning in 2017, the Connecticut State Golf Association began a new annual award recognizing competitive excellence. The Liz Janangelo Caron Women’s Player of the Year award will henceforth honor Connecticut’s top female amateur golfer.

Click here for 2019 Women's Player of the Year Points System »

2019 Women's Player of the Year Points Standings

Click here for 2019 Women's Player of the Year Points Standings »

About the Award

The Liz Janangelo Caron Women’s Player of the Year will join the CSGA’s two other Player of the Year awards given annually to the best amateur players in Connecticut. The Dick Tettelbach Player of the Year award recognizes the state’s top amateur golfer each year, and has been presented annually since 1980. In 2007 the CSGA added the Dick Siderowf Senior Player of the Year award, using a points system similar to the Tettelbach award.

During her amateur career, Janangelo Caron captured five consecutive Connecticut Women’s Amateur Championships (1997-2001), three consecutive Connecticut Women’s Open Championships (2003-2005), played on the 2004 U.S. Curtis Cup team, and qualified for three U.S. Women’s Open Championships (2000, 2002, 2003). The 2000 Connecticut Female Athlete of the Year, Janangelo Caron captured nine American Junior Golf Association titles, with five of those wins coming in 2001.

Coming out of high school Janangelo Caron was the number one ranked junior player in the United States. She continued her amateur prominence on the national level as a member of the Duke University Women’s Golf team, where she was a four-time NCAA First Team All American (2003-2006), and helped Duke capture back to back NCAA team titles in 2005 and 2006. Individually she claimed seven collegiate titles during her career, and was named the 2003 ACC Freshman of the Year and the 2004 ACC and NCAA player of the Year.

Upon graduating from Duke in 2006, Janangelo Caron claimed her fourth consecutive Connecticut Women’s Open Championship in her professional debut. She went on to compete on both the LPGA Tour and Symetra Tour capturing two wins as a professional on the Symetra Tour, both in 2007. Today, Janangelo Caron shares her expertise and experience as a teaching professional at The Mill River Club on Long Island.

Quick Links

CSGA Corporate Partners

Allied Organizations

About the CSGA

The CSGA functions as an extension of the USGA and provides stewardship for amateur golf in Connecticut. Founded in 1899, it is the country’s oldest state golf association and conducts over 50 Championships, Qualifiers and One-Day Tournaments throughout the year, in addition to administering handicaps for over 40,000 members and 181 member clubs. As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the CSGA supports a variety of golf organizations within Connecticut, including the Connecticut Women’s Golf Association, Southern New England Women’s Golf Association, The First Tee, the Connecticut PGA, the Connecticut Association of Golf Course Superintendents and the CSGA Scholarship Fund in honor of Widdy Neale.